Question regarding Google Workspace

Hey all!

So I've been trying to figure this out for the last 2 days, and I seem to be running out of ideas. Figured I can ask here, perhaps someone has had a similar experience, and can point me in the right direction.

So I am an admin for a fairly large Google Workspace organization, and I was asked by my boss to locate some Google Drive files, from an employee, that might be doing some naughty things.

I used the investigation tool and found the ID of said file. Now I am asked to retrieve the file, so they can further investigate it.

My question is - can I, as a super admin, retrieve the file from a users google drive, without changing the users password, logging in, and taking it out this way?

Is there any other alternative that you have done in the past?

Because I personally don't feel comfortable going the nuclear way of logging into their account, but I will if that is the only option.

I am sure there is a different, more appropriate way, but I am seriously running out of ideas.

Thanks to anyone who can help me with some ideas and pointers.

Comments

• vyasvyas OG
    edited April 2022

Were you asked to “take a peek” in writing by your boss? Or their boss? If not, stay away till its in writing.

Actions are generally Depending on some factors:
    Law of the land (employee/data privacy policies)
    Company policy (who owns device/pays for storage solution etc)
    Organisational ethics
    Severity of the naughtiness
    !
    Generally speaking,
    1. Nuklear is never a good option - potentially exposes you and organization to libel
    2. If the google account is a company provided one, and if the organisation has a policy something like “all of your data belongs to us”
    then many organizations have SOP in place for re setting data or deleting files remotely.