What are must-have plugins for beginners according to YOUR experience?

YmpkerYmpker OGContent Writer

So, I have been working at my university's media and language department for a couple of years now, and the other day I have been approached with the question, whether I could imagine myself becoming a WordPress Instructor at our Uni to hold some of the University's WordPress (Beginner) classes. Since the course outline at least includes the introduction of a couple of plugins, which I can to some extent choose, I wanted to ask you guys (especially @bikegremlin @vyas ) which plugins you would consider must-have plugins for total beginners of WordPress.

Please keep in mind that, due to the nature of the course, there's likely gonna be the option to introduce either 5 plugins a bit more "in-depth", or about 10 plugins very superficially. The plugins should ideally not only be free(-mium), but also be easy to use and (if possible) require little config (less options means less walls the pupils can hit).
For example, WP Super Cache (while not necessarily my caching plugin of choice), has an "Easy" and "Advanced" configuration mode, where in the course probably the "Easy" mode would be addressed.

I am still waiting for more information and if this actually comes to pass, however, I already wanted to do some brainstorming so I thought, why not ask you guys :)

Comments

• bikegremlinbikegremlin ModeratorOGContent Writer

Good question. Before I turn on my both brain cells, here are just my first thoughts, while the coffee is being slownly ingested... :)

Making a WordPress website video series

5 videos in total. Long (some over an hour), boring, tedious. Those who manage to sit through them are:
    1) Really patient, disciplined and eager to learn (or dumb as a door knob, one not excluding the other :) )