Alternatives to Google Analytics that are legal to use in the EU

Google Analytics is illegal to use in the EU because data are stored outside the EU (GDPR).
It can be made legal with a proxy, but it is a complex setup.

What good alternatives are there?

https://www.cnil.fr/en/google-analytics-and-data-transfers-how-make-your-analytics-tool-compliant-gdpr

Comments

• YmpkerYmpker OGContent Writer
    edited September 2022

Matomo is probably one of the bigger ones.

You can also check out Plausible.

Thanked by (4)kasodk bikegremlin babah mfs
  • edited September 2022

According to which level of details you need to measure, both free and paid ways that Cloudflare offers for analytics are (allegedly) GDPR compatible (no PIIs are collected but I am not a lawyer). Their Web analytics, the free way, do not require to host your DNS with them.

There is also goatcounter.com, which could be self-hosted or not, but also GDPR compatible.

Thanked by (1)kasodk
  • Umami.is looks beautiful.

Thanked by (3)kasodk veren01 AndrewL64
  • bikegremlinbikegremlin ModeratorOGContent Writer

@Ympker said:

Matomo can be self-hosted for free.

BTW, isn't GA4 GDPR compliant?

Thanked by (1)kasodk

Relja of House Novović, the First of His Name, King of the Plains, the Breaker of Chains, WirMach Wolves pack member
    BikeGremlin's web-hosting reviews

• MannDudeMannDude Hosting Provider

I just use GoAccess as a bash based log reader that gives me some basic stats: https://goaccess.io/

Thanked by (1)kasodk

[ IncogNET LLC ] - Privacy By Design
    We believe that privacy and freedom of expression are two very important things, so we offer solutions to accessing and publishing content safely.
    [ USA: Liberty Lake, WA | Kansas City, MO | Allentown, PA ] [EU: Naaldwijk, NL ] [ CL Shared | KVM VPS | VPN | Dedicated Servers | Domain Names ]

• @bikegremlin said:

@Ympker said:

No, data is stored in US.

• @kasodk said:

@bikegremlin said:

@Ympker said: