VirMach - Complain - Moan - Praise - Chit Chat

Comments

• VirMachVirMach Hosting Provider

@VirMach said: I am guessing it still has to do on Evocative's end with the router. I've spent a lot of time going down a rabbit hole and everything seems to point to their router having some problem that's causing visibility issues. It's announced properly, RPKI is correct, shows up on everything, but it looks like it's only getting picked up by only a few carriers, except if you dig into it everything's already updated pretty much everywhere.

Looking at major transit looking glasses that have a problem with it, I see that it's definitely making it all the way to the facility, and then poof. Anyway, that's just my guess. At this point I'll play my "I'm not a network engineer" card.

Oh by the way for anyone interested, it was exactly this. I wish I wrote out my long version of the message so I could sound smarter in hindsight, but when I was doing the testing, there were two IP addresses I saw for routers, one router was the one that worked. One was the one that didn't work and any time that one got picked, it'd cause the issue.

I mentioned this in my first message to them with the exact IP addresses of the routers, I guess it just took a while for them to go through their checklist and then get there eventually.

One of the routers wasn't set up to actually process anything for our announcements, the other one was.

But of course first they asked for MTR, add a long pause between all these, then they asked us why the MTR was cut off (because it wasn't cut off, it was the full MTR and that's where it cut off) and then why it was working to the switch (we never said it didn't work tot he switch, just that the announcements were having issues when going through those two routers.)