Best way to add storage to VPS

I started using my VPS as a node on my Syncthing network.

I'm thinking of signing up for Backblaze B2 and mount it using rclone. I have no experience with either one, but it's fun to learn.

More than anything, I'm curious to hear how other people approach this problem. I've seen mentions of GDrive, but I'm trying to stay away from Google/Amazon and the like.

It's pronounced hacker.

Comments

• Juicefs

Thanked by (1)jqr
  • edited November 2023

It all depends on the performance I need

I regularly use heztner storage boxes and mount them via sshfs.
    I also use object storage a lot for my backups, but using the S3 API. (Scaleway object storage)
    I've never tried mounting as a volume, but it seems feasible.

https://github.com/s3fs-fuse/s3fs-fuse

Thanked by (3)skorous jqr nick_
  • @remy said: It all depends on the performance I need

This is a good comment.

Sometimes I use NFS, sometimes ISCSI+bcache.

Thanked by (1)jqr
  • I've had good experience with sshfs for mounting remote storage.

Thanked by (1)jqr

Recommended hosts:
    Letbox, Data ideas, Hetzner

• @flo82 said:
    Juicefs

I did not know about this one. I'll look into it. Any particular reason you like it?

@remy said:

I'm not worried about performance at all. This is basically a fallback for when I'm not at home, or can't use my VPN for some reason (like at school, where they block Wireguard why?!). The rest of the time I have direct access to my home server and can pull from that.

Ironically, I had thought about SSHFS, but in my experience (a long time ago) it was unreliable, which is something I do care about.

@tetech said:

Sometimes I use NFS, sometimes ISCSI+bcache.

I use NFS at home, but for remote access I would need to add the server to my VPN or something of the sort, no? I'm trying to avoid that because it would mean opening my home server to an untrusted machine.

@james50a said: