Hello, friend.

I’ve been lurking here a long time, and haven’t yet found the need to post a question that wasn’t answered by searching. But it seems I need to post something to get cred that lets me take advantage of certain offers, so I’ll just introduce myself.

I’m a software developer working out of my home near Sacramento, California. I’ve been hacking Unix and Linux for several decades (anyone remember DEC’s Ultrix?). For a long time I maintained a colocated server for mail, web, and storage that evolved to be just for myself, family, and close friends. After the hardware and software became very antiquated and unmaintainable, I transitioned to a new server (acquired surplus at low cost) that I run at home connected to Comcast Business Internet service. Specs:

• HP ProLiant DL160 Gen8
  • Dual Xeon E5-2609 (8 real cores, no HT)
  • 144 GiB DRAM
  • 2 TB NVMe SSD (on a PCIe card)
  • Four 3.5″ drive bays (currently with 12 TB but expanding)

It’s been a challenge making everything work well, such as needing to install an SD card as a boot drive because the pre-UEFI firmware couldn’t boot the NVMe SSD, and getting Comcast to populate my IPv4 and IPv6 DNS PTR records. Notable software includes Fedora 40 Linux, Postfix, Dovecot, and SpamAssassin for mail, Apache, and Home Assistant.

Since I no longer have an off-site backup server, my current challenge is to try to snag a cheap storage VPS plan from a promotion here, or maybe set up a cooperative arrangement with someone having similar needs.

I’m curious to hear others’ thoughts on serving from home versus colocation, VPS, or bare metal rental. I see pros:

• Fixed-cost hardware upgrades (e.g. I could easily have 80 TB of storage)
  • LAN-speed and no-cost local access to data and other services

Cons:

• Less reliability from long power and Internet outages (but I don’t need five 9s)
  • Environmental impacts: space, power, cooling, noise
  • Internet provider support may be less motivated to please