need some opinions on zfs resilvering

i am new to zfs so need some insights on zfs resilvering. i just recovered a degraded raid z1 pool due to faulty disk and it took around 4-5 days to resilver . during the whole process all my applications on the zfs went extremely slow. just needed to know if i replace a drive from a healthy pool with all the disk working properly will the resilver take the same time and also will my applications work properly or slow down again.

Comments

• edited July 17

It will more than likely take less time if you are resilvering in a healthy pool because read operations can happen across all disks.

I/O operations will still be happening though therefore there will be an impact on your system performance. It's hard to judge though as it depends on your system specs, the type of disks used and the type of data. You can change the resilvering priority on your system with 'zfs_resilver_delay' though, have a read on the documentation around that.

Is this a system that is only typically used during certain hours? You could setup a cron job to change the resilvering priority to be lower during the required hours, and then increase the priority once the busy period has passed.

SharedGrid | Fast, secure, and reliable UK, USA and Singapore web, reseller and VPS Hosting
    Litespeed, Redis Cache, NVMe Drives, Daily Backups, 24x7 Support, Wordpress Optimised.

• host_chost_c Hosting Provider

@nestap said:
    i am new to zfs so need some insights on zfs resilvering. i just recovered a degraded raid z1 pool due to faulty disk and it took around 4-5 days to resilver . during the whole process all my applications on the zfs went extremely slow. just needed to know if i replace a drive from a healthy pool with all the disk working properly will the resilver take the same time and also will my applications work properly or slow down again.

Rule 1 - use either raid10 or Z2 ( z1 / raid5 EOL for 2 decades, google why ).